Get your free website from Spanglefish
Spanglefish Gold Status Expired 17/03/2024.
07 April 2015
West Highland Offshore Series

June sees the start of a new championship for Scottish keelboat racing sailors; the West Highland Offshore Series. Billed as Scotland’s only season-long, passage race sailing championship, the series will collect results from nine keelboat race events and use the five best results for each boat to derive a winning yacht for the season.

Five west coast sailing clubs have come together to create the series with races starting in Gairloch, Kyle of Lochalsh, Oban, Plockton and Portree and, best of all, it costs nothing to enter. Participation in any of the qualifying races automatically enters the yacht... no paperwork, no fees, no hassle – just enjoy the racing and the stunning Scottish west coast scenery.

The top three boats will receive prizes sponsored by the mutli-award-winning Duisdale House Hotel in Sleat, Isle of
Skye. These include a weekend break with dinner and meals for runners-up. Series co-ordinator Ian McKay , “We
are fortunate that the owners of the Duisdale are keen sailors themselves, the hotel even has a yacht and moorings for guests’ use, and when they heard about the concept of the West Highland Offshore Series they instantly jumped onboard to help. When you remember that there is no fee to enter this championship, it’s a fantastic return to competitors for just taking part!” The races included in the series are:

June 5 – Oban to Glencoe Passage Race (Annual feeder event to the Glencoe Regatta which is held on Saturday 6th June): www.glencoeboatclub.org

June 19 – Midsummer in the Minch (Overnight race from Portree to Gairloch via the Shiant Isles): www.skyesailingclub.com

June 27 – Gairloch Boat Club Big Boat Race (Around islands and bouys from Gairloch) www.spanglefish.com/gairlochboatclub/

July 3, 4, 5 – Round Mull Race. (Oban to Oban, Mull to port (scores half points – i.e. double value)): www.obansailingclub.org/

July 11 – Over the Sea to Skye ((Kyles’ Cup part 1) Kyle of Lochalsh to Portree): www.skyesailingclub.com

July 12 – Over the Sea from Skye ((Kyles’ Cup part 2) Portree to Kyleakin) – www.skyesailingclub.com

July 25 – Round Raasay Pursuit (Portree start and finish. Staggered start based upon CYCA handicap.
Mass Finish and knees-up): www.skyesailingclub.com

August 1 – PSBSC Frithard Trophy (Plockton's keelboat race and part of their Regatta Fortnight): For further details click here.

September TBC – Last Gasp Trophy (A day of round the cans racing in Churchton Bay, Raasay (in front of Raasay House)

Results, format terms and details via www.skyesailingclub.com

Click for Map
sitemap | cookie policy | privacy policy | accessibility statement